Top 47 Reviews From Legit 4health Dog Food Buyers (2024)

4health Dog Food Reviews

Write a review

Stars Rating

  • 13%
  • 3%
  • 1%
  • 0%
  • 83%

Popular Mentions

    How do I know I can trust these reviews about 4health Dog Food?

    • 4,472,779 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

    Recent
    • Recent
    • Oldest
    • Most helpful

    A link has directed you to this review. Its location on this page may change next time you visit.

    How do I know I can trust these reviews about 4health Dog Food?

    • 4,472,779 reviews on ConsumerAffairs are verified.
    • We require contact information to ensure our reviewers are real.
    • We use intelligent software that helps us maintain the integrity of reviews.
    • Our moderators read all reviews to verify quality and helpfulness.

    Page 1 Reviews 0 - 10

    JohnWest Bloomfield, MI

    Reviewed June 7, 2024

    I have been using 4health for all my puppies and dogs for years! I have NEVER EXPERIENCED any issues with this dog food! With a 20 year feeding structure. I like that they use less fillers such as corn, and they use a decent amount of protein. Moving forward I am very happy with this product and will continue using it!

    • Report

    Top 47 Reviews From Legit 4health Dog Food Buyers (1)

    AlexandraColorado Springs, CO

    Customer Service

    Reviewed May 22, 2024

    I breed boxers. I had a litter born in March and was on Diamond ....No issues and switched to 4health lamb puppy with the litters born in April and out of those litters I had 10 puppies die from bacterial gastritis. Every single puppy got sick except for the ones that I had on Diamond. Coincidence? You tell me. They had projectile regurgitation and couldn't hold down anything in their stomach. They were 3 weeks old. It was heartbreaking and in 18 years of breeding I've never had anything like this happen.... Stay away from this food. I wish I knew what I could do to prove this. Who to call? My number is ** If anyone has any ideas.

    • Report

    Stacy

    Maybe stop switching food with puppies that are only old enough to just start trying food.

    • Report

    Thanks for subscribing.

    You have successfully subscribed to our newsletter! Enjoy reading our tips and recommendations.

    JulieHouston, TX

    Reviewed May 14, 2024

    I couldn’t believe it when I found this site today, ten days after my sweet dog died from a heart attack! I had changed from Purina 1 and had been feeding her this lamb and rice brand for at least 4 weeks. My other dog didn’t want to eat it and began limping and gaining weight. After reading this, I feel certain it was caused by this crappy dog food. Not many dry dog foods are very good.

    • Report

    LoraineCleveland, GA

    Reviewed May 6, 2024

    Purchased 4Health Salmon and Potato dry dog food for my 4 dogs. All dogs started vomiting white foam, lethargic, hot spots, diarrhea and vomiting. 2 dogs got pancreatitis, and one dog almost died. Vet bills I would say easy over $2000. My mini dachshund stopped walking because of the pain in her intestines. We thought it was her back at first, but then it just turned out to be her intestines were inflamed from this food. This food is a death sentence. Once we switched their food, all their symptoms went away. Now, back to normal.

    • Report

    StephenCheyenne, WY

    Reviewed April 27, 2024

    We thought this would be a good food for our German Shepherd/ Malinois. One month into it she started scratching herself a lot and her poop became soft and yellow. Soon after that it turned into diarrhea for a week. We realized it was the 4health food. Threw that away and immediately started her new diet with Diamond Naturals and today normal poop and she looks a lot better! Didn’t even bother mixing it to get her used to it! Don’t buy this crap!

    • Report

    KimWylie, TX

    Price

    Reviewed April 26, 2024

    Purchased 4Health Salmon and Potato dry dog food and BOTH of my dogs have been vomiting white foam for two weeks, lethargic and evidently eating a ton of grass. We haven’t changed anything else besides their dog food. I came here to check the reviews and I’m shocked. Throwing it out and switching back Purina Pro Plan Sensitive Stomach and Skin Salmon dog food. Tried to save a few bucks with the 4Health dog food and it’s cost me $$$ in vet bills. Take this food off the shelf please.

    • Report

    AshleyAtlanta, GA

    Staff

    Reviewed April 20, 2024

    I switched my boxer mix to the 4 health salmon recipe due to his chicken allergy. He has been so sick! Vomiting multiple times over the course of two weeks. I wouldn't recommend this dog food. It's caused him to puke white foam. I stopped giving it to him for one day and he didn't vomit again. We were following the slow transition guidelines. Something is seriously wrong with this dog food. It seems great on the bag with the limited ingredients... seems...

    • Report

    StacyYankton, SD

    Reviewed April 20, 2024

    Do not buy! Worst thing I ever did was switch to this dog food. My dog got a severe ear and skin infection. Vet bill over $300. This dog food should be taken off all shelves. It’s horrible. Do not feed it to your dog unless you are trying to kill it! It’s that bad. Had to switch to Science Diet dog food for sensitive skin and stomach. Now my dog's not eating grass and feels much better. Science Diet is way to go if you're having problems with dog foods. Ask your vet. They will recommend what type your dog needs. Science Diet saved my dog!

    • Report

    ErickaCedar Springs, MI

    Punctuality & Speed

    Reviewed March 2, 2024

    Bought 4 health salmon and potatoes food to try to switch our dog to who has a sensitive stomach since it has probiotics in it, and after 4 days of being on it he developed blood in his stool and had to be taken to urgent care. He was diagnosed with Acute Hemorrhagic diarrhea syndrome which can be life threatening if not caught early, thankfully it was.. The vet said it was caused by switching foods, which he wasn't fully on it yet as we were mixing it with his current food to allow his stomach to get used to it. Do not buy this food.

    • Report

    Top 47 Reviews From Legit 4health Dog Food Buyers (2)

    MichaelParlin, NJ

    Price

    Reviewed Nov. 18, 2023

    I have been giving my working k-9. Sheppard/Malinois 4health for two years. No issues. I have been told in past it’s a good grain free food, no preservatives. All a sudden she had been getting violent bouts of bad diarrhea. Go to chicken and rice and it came back over and over. No other food or treats were given. Changed food to Royal Canin. Although extremely expensive. It seemed to have work almost immediately. I do not recommend this food at all. Either she developed an allergy to it or they started adding something to the food that is obviously not healthy. Pay the extra money and buy better food.

    • Report

    Loading more reviews...

    Top 47 Reviews From Legit 4health Dog Food Buyers (2024)

    FAQs

    Is 4health dog food made in China? ›

    Most recipes made in the USA

    4health dog food is manufactured by Diamond Pet Foods, Inc. in the USA.

    Is there a recall on 4health dog food? ›

    Fortunately, there's no 4Health dog food product under recall in 2024. This means that so far, the quality and safety of every 4Health product has met the standards set forth by the FDA. Therefore, you have nothing to worry about if you're currently feeding your canine dog food from 4Health.

    Is 4health dog food linked to heart disease? ›

    2019 Heart Disease Investigation

    We also want to alert readers to the fact that, in late June 2019, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) identified 4health as one of 16 pet food brands that may be linked to heart disease in dogs and cats.

    Who makes Tractor Supply 4health dog food? ›

    4Health dog food is a family-owned, private-label brand manufactured for the Tractor Supply Company by Diamond Pet Foods, Inc. The Tractor Supply Company (in business since 1938) is the largest rural lifestyle store in the US, selling various home, pet, and farming products.

    Is 4health better than Purina? ›

    A Sneak Peek at the Winner: Purina Pro Plus

    Although no dog food brand is faultless, we recommend Purina Pro Plan above 4health because their food has been tested on real animals in a controlled feeding trial; it meets the AAFCO and FDA standards and is 100% balanced. It also offers many wet and dry dog food varieties.

    What dog food is comparable to 4health? ›

    Both Blue Buffalo and 4Health emphasize natural ingredients and often market their products as free from artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives, aligning with consumer preferences for natural pet foods.

    What dog food is making dogs sick in 2024? ›

    Owing to the potential presence of loose metal pieces in certain bags, Mars Petcare US issued a limited voluntary recall on May 17, 2024, for 315 bags of Pedigree Adult Complete Nutrition Grilled Steak & Vegetable Flavor Dry Dog Food.

    Is 4health dog food bad for dogs? ›

    We give 4Health dog food a rating of 4 out of 5 stars.

    The brand offers limited ingredient foods that include real meat and veggies in both grain-free and wholesome grain options. Though it's a bit limited where you can find the brand as it's a private label, the food should be suitable for most pups.

    What dog food is not recommended by vets? ›

    In addition to Blue Buffalo, the brands cited by the FDA are Acana, California Natural, Earthborn Holistic, 4Health, Fromm, Merrick, Nature's Domain, Nature's Variety, Natural Balance, NutriSource, Nutro, Orijen, Rachael Ray Nutrish, Taste of the Wild and Zignature.

    Is 4health dog food Aafco approved? ›

    The 4Health Grain Free product line includes the 7 dry dog foods listed below. Each recipe includes its related AAFCO nutrient profile when available on the product's official webpage: Growth, Maintenance, All Life Stages, Supplemental or Unspecified.

    Why do vets not recommend grain free dog food? ›

    There also seems to be a connection between grain-free diets and dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM). DCM is a disease that weakens the heart muscle and decreases its ability to pump blood throughout the body. As non-genetic DCM has increased in dogs, experts have noticed that many have been eating a grain-free diet.

    Is 4health salmon and potato good for dogs? ›

    The 4health Salmon & Potato Adult Dog Food works for them. They love it and after reading the ingredients... I think it is a wise choice to feed them. It's easy to give this Tractor Supply 4health dog food 5 Stars.

    Does 4health dog food have probiotics? ›

    Each Bag of 4health Dog Food Formula Provides Species Specific Probiotics to Specifically Aid Digestion and Modulate the Immune System of Canines. Taurine Fortified to Help Support a Healthy Heart.

    Is grain free food good for dogs? ›

    There are a lot of dog and cat foods sold as grain-free with marketing suggesting that feeding no grains is healthier. This is not true and can, in fact, cause illness for some dogs and cats. There is no medical or physiologic basis to feed dogs or cats a grain-free diet.

    What dog foods are not sourced from China? ›

    Fromm Family Pet Foods

    Their many pet food products are made with mostly local ingredients, including Wisconsin's famous cheese and beef. All the others are sourced from ethical suppliers the family trusts. The company has also pledged never to use ingredients sourced from China.

    Is Nature's Recipe dog food made in China? ›

    All dry foods are made in the United States. Wet recipes are made in Thailand.

    Is Blue Buffalo made in China? ›

    If you have any kitties—they even have quite a comprehensive cat food line. But if you care about where your dog food company gets their ingredients, you might want to uncover the details. Blue Buffalo is in fact, proudly made in the USA.

    Is purina made in China? ›

    Of all Purina pet food products sold in the U.S.A., 99 percent are made in the U.S.A.. Not only are the vast majority of our dog foods made in the U.S.A., but we also source most of our ingredients in the U.S.A. too.

    Top Articles
    Latest Posts
    Article information

    Author: Greg O'Connell

    Last Updated:

    Views: 6346

    Rating: 4.1 / 5 (62 voted)

    Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

    Author information

    Name: Greg O'Connell

    Birthday: 1992-01-10

    Address: Suite 517 2436 Jefferey Pass, Shanitaside, UT 27519

    Phone: +2614651609714

    Job: Education Developer

    Hobby: Cooking, Gambling, Pottery, Shooting, Baseball, Singing, Snowboarding

    Introduction: My name is Greg O'Connell, I am a delightful, colorful, talented, kind, lively, modern, tender person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.